Terre Haute Ind July 26 1886

The lodge met in Regular Session Worthy Master O. E. Fox in the chair. The minutes of the previous meeting were Read and approved
Reports of Committees
The committee to whom was Refered [sic] the application of Ed Hail Reported favorable and on motion the Report was concurred in and the Committee discharged

Balloting for Candidates
The ballot being Spread Ed Hail was declared Elected

Admission of Candidates
Albert M Fuller and H Jordan being in waiting in the Anteroom They were duly initiated as members of Vigo lodge No16 B of L. F.

A communication was Read from Wm Huge of lodge No 14 at Indianapolis in Regard to Bro Frank Jones as they did not acknowledge said Brother and on motion the Secretary was instructed to write to Bro Hugo stating that Bro Jones was a member of Vigo lodge No16 and in good standing all of which entitled him to the friendship of the Brotherhood It was also stated verbaly [sic] that Eureka lodge 14 was going to give a fair for the benefit of the lodge. A motion was made by Jas Smith that the communication be laid on the table but it was not seconded and on motion of the Secretary that the communication be Received It was amended by Bro Debs and that the Master bring it up in Regular form at the next Regular Meeting The Amendment Prevailed
The following Bills were allowed. The Bill of Chas Bennett for quarters Salary Ending July 1st to the amount of 1250 Also Bill of John F O'Reilly for Salary as Secretary for the yr to the amount of $300
Election of Officers
Bros Gross and Bundy were appointed Tellers Brother E. V. Debs was in nomination for Master and on motion he was Elected by Acclamation Bros H Sacks H Davis and M E Glenn were placed in nomination for Vice Master Bro H Davis having Received a majority of all the votes cast, He was declared Elected Bros George Godfrey and John F O'Reilly was nominated for secretary Bros Godfrey having received a majority of all the votes cast he was declared Elected Bro Chas Bennett was Elected Financier by acclamation The following trustees were Elected Bro Gross Frank Smith and Ras Miller. Bros H Davis Frank Larr & Frank Smith were nominated for as Delegates Bro Hardin Davis having Received a majority of all the votes cast He was declared the Delegate to attend the convention to be held in Minneapolis

Installation of Officers
The following officers were duly installed E V Debs as Master H Davis as Vice Master the financier and Secretary not being present. Frank Larr as Warden E C Miller as conductor Frank Smith Inner Guard M Horan as Outer Guard J H Jordan as Chaplin

Bro Wm Sherburne asked for a donation of $300 as a loan the same was granted

Receipts of Meeting $900

There being no further business the lodge closed in Regular form

John. F. O'Reilly


top of page Special Collections Home Lodge Record Selection Page