Terre Haute Ind April 28th 1884

The Lodge opened in due form Worthy Master E. V. Debs in the chair. The minutes of the previous meeting were Read and approved
Applications for Membership
The applications of Thomas Shannon H. Bell, C Gross & George Young for membership and Martin Keans Swan Swanson and James Harrington for Reinstatement the applications were Refered [sic] to F. Larr, Horan and Frank Smith
Reports of Committees
The committee to whom was Refered [sic] the applications of M Murray H. J. Lacey Webb Thompson & Geo Harman Reported favorable on motion the Report was concurred in and the committee discharged
Balloting for Candidates
M Murray H. J. Lacey Webb Thompson & Geo Hanson were balloted for and were duly Elected members of Vigo Lodge No16
Initiation if Candidates
Webb Thompson and Geo Harman were in waiting in the Ante Room and were duly initiated as members of this Lodge
Bills for Allowance
The Bill of Chas Bennett for postage stamps to the amount of two dollars was allowed. The Bill of Terre Haute Gas Company amounting to 25¢ was allowed. The bill of P. J. Kaufman for coal oil can & oil amounting to 35¢ was allowed The bill of James Smith as janitor from March 1st to May 1st amounting to three dollars and thirty cents was allowed The Bill of Chas Bennett for services as financier amounting to nine dollars was allowed. The Bill of Moore & Langen for printing notices of the change of meeting amounting to one dollar was also allowed and on motion an order was drawn on the financier for the above amounts.
New Business
Moved seconded and carried that no member will be allowed a traveling card unless he understands the manner of passing said card and also the Ante Room test and the financier have said power of testing the applicant & if necessary he shall instruct him
Receipts of meeting $16 50/100.
There being no further business the lodge closed in due form

John. F. O'Reilly   E. V. Debs
Secretary   Master

top of page Special Collections Home Lodge Record Selection Page