Terre Haute Ind Sunday May 27th 1883

The Lodge met in regular session.
Worthy Master Fox occupied the chair.
The Lodge being opened in due form the minutes of the preceding meeting were read and approved.
Propositions for Membership
The following propositions for membership were read:
G. H. Godfrey was proposed by R. Ebbage
Ed. Shaw          "       "          " Will. Larr
        The foregoing propositions were referred to a committee consisting of Bros. E. E. Dearman, M. P. Lantz and A. Gurney for investigation.
Reports of Committees
The Committee to which had been referred the proposition of A.C. Devine and also of W. H. Ackey for reinstatement, reported favorably on the same.
The reports were concurred and the Committee discharged.
Admission of Candidates
G. J. Philbrick, an elected candidate was admitted to full membership in the Order.
Wm. H. Ackey, having been balloted for and elected, was declared reinstated as a member in good standing. The Secretary signed the Constitution for him.
The invitation from Morton Post G.A.R. to take part in the procession & the ceremony of the decoration of Soldiers Graves, May 30th, was accepted, with thanks, by the Lodge.
A committee consisting of Bros. E.V. Debs, O. E. Fox and J. Brannin was appointed to make the necessary arrangements in the matter.
On motion of Bros. Debs the proposition fees of Wm McCutcheon, Chas. Brennan and James Phipps, elected candidates were who joined the Lodge at Evansville, were returned.
Bro. Ebbage proposed charges against Bros. Frank Brokaw for having been drunk May 21st. The charges were referred to a Committee consisting of Bros. Lantz, Larr, Viquesney, Barr and Bennett for investigation.
The meeting then adjourned.
Read and approved June 24/83
  Secretary O.E. Fox Master

Close of the regular meeting Sunday May 27/83

top of page Special Collections Home Lodge Record Selection Page