Indiana State University
ISU Library Home Tutorials Ask a Librarian Reference Live Chat Assignment Calculator
Renew a Book Hours Interlibrary Loan Circulation Department
Library Catalog Databases Ejournals/Newspapers Course Reserve DVDs and CDs

Alphabetical Listing of Online Reference Books

You can access online reference books on campus or off-campus (with your Sycamore Login and Password). For details on getting off-campus access, go to the proxy instructions page.

Clicking on this image for each Online Reference Book will bring up a description
Clicking on this image will show any restrictions

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

A

Adolescence in AmericaMore
African American AlmanacMore
African American EducationMore
African Americans and Political ParticipationMore
African Americans at WarMore
African BiographyMore  Restrictions
Almanac of Famous PeopleMore  Restrictions
AMA Handbook of Business LettersMore
American DecadesMore  Restrictions
American ErasMore  Restrictions
American Ethnic WritersMore
American FactFinderMore
American Medical Association Physician SelectMore
American National Biography OnlineMore
American National Standards InstituteMore
American Society for Testing & Materials (ASTM)More
American UniversitiesMore
American Women in TechnologyMore
America's Fastest Growing JobsMore
Animals and the LawMore
APA StyleMore
APA Style EssentialsMore
APA Style.org: Electronic ReferencesMore
APA WizardMore
Art & Architecture (Oxford Reference Online)More
Assessing Children's Well-BeingMore
AT&T AnyWho: Find a Toll-Free NumberMore
AT&T AnyWho: Internet Directory AssistanceMore
Attention Deficit DisorderMore
Authors and Artists for Young AdultsMore  Restrictions

Return to Top of Listing

B

Baker's Biographical Dictionary of MusiciansMore  Restrictions
Bartleby.com: ReferenceMore
BaseballMore
Basic Legal CitationMore
Beacham's Guide to the Endangered Species of North AmericaMore
Bilingual Dictionaries (Oxford Reference Online)More
BiodiversityMore
Biological Sciences (Oxford Reference Online)More
Birth ControlMore
Blackwell Companion to Modern TheologyMore
Blackwell Dictionary of SociologyMore
Books in Print (Global)More  Restrictions
Boyhood in AmericaMore
Bridgeman Art Library ArchiveMore
Brief Guide to Citing Government PublicationsMore
Bureau of Economic AnalysisMore
Bureau of Labor StatisticsMore
Business Leader Profiles for StudentsMore  Restrictions
Business Letters for Busy PeopleMore

Return to Top of Listing

C

CannabisMore
Carroll's County DirectoryMore  Restrictions
Carroll's Federal DirectoryMore  Restrictions
Carroll's Municipal DirectoryMore  Restrictions
Carroll's State DirectoryMore  Restrictions
Census 2000: IndianaMore
Census Bureau Economic ProgramsMore
Chicago Manual of Style Citation GuideMore
Child DevelopmentMore
CIA World FactbookMore
Classics (Oxford Reference Online)More
Clinician's Pocket ReferenceMore
Cold War 1945-1991More  Restrictions
Columbia EncyclopediaMore
Columbia Gazetteer of North AmericaMore
Columbia Guide to Online StyleMore
Companion to Gender HistoryMore
Computing (Oxford Reference Online)More
Concise Dictionary of American Literary BiographyMore  Restrictions
Concise Dictionary of British Literary BiographyMore  Restrictions
Conflict in AfghanistanMore
Constitutional Amendments, 1789 to the PresentMore  Restrictions
Contemporary ArtistsMore  Restrictions
Contemporary AuthorsMore  Restrictions
Contemporary Authors New Revision SeriesMore  Restrictions
Contemporary Black BiographyMore  Restrictions
Contemporary DesignersMore  Restrictions
Contemporary DramatistsMore  Restrictions
Contemporary FashionMore  Restrictions
Contemporary Heroes and HeroinesMore  Restrictions
Contemporary Hispanic BiographyMore  Restrictions
Contemporary MusiciansMore  Restrictions
Contemporary NewsmakersMore  Restrictions
Contemporary NovelistsMore  Restrictions
Contemporary PhotographersMore  Restrictions
Contemporary PoetsMore  Restrictions
Contemporary Popular WritersMore  Restrictions
Contemporary Southern WritersMore  Restrictions
Contemporary Theatre, Film and TelevisionMore  Restrictions
Contemporary Women ArtistsMore  Restrictions
Contemporary Women PoetsMore  Restrictions
Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral ScienceMore
Country at a GlanceMore
Country StudiesMore
Criminal Law HandbookMore
Current Leaders of NationsMore  Restrictions

Return to Top of Listing

D

Davis's Comprehensive Laboratory and Diagnostic Test HandbookMore
Death and the AfterlifeMore
Debrett's People of TodayMore  Restrictions
Dictionary of Accounting TermsMore
Dictionary of American BiographyMore  Restrictions
Dictionary of E-BusinessMore
Dictionary of Hispanic BiographyMore  Restrictions
Dictionary of Midwestern LiteratureMore
Dictionary of National Biography (Oxford)More  Restrictions
Digital Librarian: ReferenceMore
Directory of American ScholarsMore  Restrictions

Return to Top of Listing

E

Earth & Environmental Sciences (Oxford Reference Online)More
EarthTrends Environmental Information PortalMore
Economics & Business (Oxford Reference Online)More
Edmund'sMore
Electrical Engineer's Portable HandbookMore
Encyclopaedia Britannica OnlineMore
Encyclopedia (Oxford Reference Online)More
Encyclopedia of Astronomy and AstrophysicsMore
Encyclopedia of Birth ControlMore
Encyclopedia of Clothing and FashionMore
Encyclopedia of Communication and InformationMore
Encyclopedia of Crime and JusticeMore
Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol, and Addictive BehaviorMore
Encyclopedia of EducationMore
Encyclopedia of Feminist TheoriesMore
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim WorldMore
Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in AmericaMore
Encyclopedia of Life SciencesMore  Restrictions
Encyclopedia of Modern AsiaMore
Encyclopedia of Occultism and ParapsychologyMore  Restrictions
Encyclopedia of PostmodernismMore
Encyclopedia of SociologyMore
Encyclopedia of TaboosMore
Encyclopedia of the American Civil WarMore
Encyclopedia of the Stateless NationsMore
Encyclopedia of Urban LegendsMore
Encyclopedia of Women in the Ancient WorldMore
Encyclopedia of World BiographyMore  Restrictions
Encyclopedic Dictionary of Plant Breeding and Related SubjectsMore
English Dictionaries & Thesauruses (Oxford Reference Online)More
English Language Reference (Oxford Reference Online)More
Environmental EncyclopediaMore
Ersys Earth Resource SystemMore
ESPERE Climate EncyclopediaMore
Essential Links: ReferenceMore
Explorers and Discoverers of the WorldMore  Restrictions
Extraordinary Encounters: An Encyclopedia of Extraterrestrials and Otherworldly BeingsMore

Return to Top of Listing

F

Federal Citizen Information CenterMore
FedStatsMore
Feminist WritersMore  Restrictions
Fifty Key Thinkers in PsychologyMore
Find AssociationsMore
Food & Drink (Oxford Reference Online)More
Foundation CenterMore
Funk and Wagnalls New World EncyclopediaMore

Return to Top of Listing

G

Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative MedicineMore
Gale Encyclopedia of E-CommerceMore  Restrictions
Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic DisordersMore
Gale Encyclopedia of Mental DisordersMore
Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied HealthMore
Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. Economic HistoryMore  Restrictions
Gale Virtual Reference LibraryMore
Gambling in AmericaMore
Gateway to Educational MaterialsMore
Gay & Lesbian BiographyMore  Restrictions
Geo-Data: The World Geographical EncyclopediaMore
GEOLEX: Geologic Names LexiconMore
Girlhood in AmericaMore
Global Etiquette Guide to Africa and the Middle EastMore
Global Etiquette Guide to Mexico and Latin AmericaMore
Great Women in SportsMore  Restrictions
Grove Art OnlineMore  Restrictions
Grove Music OnlineMore  Restrictions
Grzimek's Animal Life EncyclopediaMore
Guns in American SocietyMore

Return to Top of Listing

H

Handbook of Child PsychologyMore
Harrison's Manual of MedicineMore
Historic World LeadersMore  Restrictions
History (Oxford Reference Online)More
History behind the HeadlinesMore  Restrictions
Homosexuality and the LawMore
How Far Is It?More
Hutchinson Dictionary of Computing and the InternetMore
Hutchinson Dictionary of ScienceMore
Hutchinson Science Desk ReferenceMore
Hypertext Webster GatewayMore

Return to Top of Listing

I

Illustrated Dictionary of ElectronicsMore
Indiana Business Research CenterMore
Indiana Colleges and UniversitiesMore
Indiana State University DirectoryMore
Infobel Word: Telephone DirectoriesMore
INFOMINE: General Reference ResourcesMore
InfoSpaceMore
International Archive of Educational DataMore
International Dictionary of Architects and ArchictectureMore  Restrictions
International Dictionary of Art and ArtistsMore  Restrictions
International Dictionary of BalletMore  Restrictions
International Dictionary of Films and FilmmakersMore  Restrictions
International Dictionary of Modern DanceMore  Restrictions
International Dictionary of OperaMore  Restrictions
International Dictionary of TheatreMore  Restrictions
International Encyclopedia of Women's SuffrageMore
International Women in ScienceMore
Internet Movie DatabaseMore
Internet Public Library: General/ReferenceMore
Internet Quick Reference: IU Bloomington LibrariesMore
Inventions and InventorsMore
IPEDS: College Opportunities On-LineMore
ISO International Organization for StandardizationMore

Return to Top of Listing

K

Karla's Guide to Citation Style GuidesMore
Kelley Blue BookMore

Return to Top of Listing

L

Law (Oxford Reference Online)More
Librarians' Index to the Internet: ReferenceMore
Library SpotMore
Literature (Oxford Reference Online)More

Return to Top of Listing

M

Major Authors and Illustrators for Children and Young AdultsMore  Restrictions
Making It in AmericaMore
MapQuestMore
Maps & Illustrations (Oxford Reference Online)More
Marquis Who's WhoMore  Restrictions
Martial Arts of the WorldMore
Martindale's Calculators On-Line CenterMore
Math & Mathematicians: The History of Math Discoveries around the WorldMore  Restrictions
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Earth ScienceMore
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of EngineeringMore
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Environmental ScienceMore
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of MathematicsMore
Medicinal Plants of the WorldMore
Medicine (Oxford Reference Online)More
Medieval FolkloreMore
Merck Manual of Diagnosis and TherapyMore
Merriam-Webster AtlasMore
Merriam-Webster OnLineMore
Merriam-Webster's Biographical DictionaryMore  Restrictions
Merriam-Webster's Collegiate DictionaryMore
Military History (Oxford Reference Online)More
MIT Encyclopedia of Communication DisordersMore
MLA Style: Frequently Asked QuestionsMore
Morbidity and Mortality Weekly ReportMore
Mythology & Folklore (Oxford Reference Online)More

Return to Top of Listing

N

Names & Places (Oxford Reference Online)More
National Address ServerMore
National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)More
National Center for Health StatisticsMore
National ConstitutionsMore
NewsmakersMore  Restrictions
Nobel Prize Internet ArchiveMore
Nolo's Encyclopedia of Everyday LawMore
North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)More
Notable Asian AmericansMore  Restrictions
Notable Black American MenMore  Restrictions
Notable Black American ScientistsMore  Restrictions
Notable Black American WomenMore  Restrictions
Notable Hispanic American WomenMore  Restrictions
Notable MathematiciansMore  Restrictions
Notable Native AmericansMore  Restrictions
Notable Scientists: From 1900 to the PresentMore  Restrictions
Notable Women ScientistsMore  Restrictions
NSSN Global Resource for StandardsMore
NTC's American Idioms DictionaryMore
NTC's Dictionary of American Slang and Colloquial ExpressionsMore
Nurse's Manual of Laboratory and Diagnostic TestsMore
NYPL Digital GalleryMore

Return to Top of Listing

O

OneLook Dictionary SearchMore
Oran's Dictionary of the LawMore
Outlaws, Mobsters & Crooks: From the Old West to the InternetMore  Restrictions
Oxford English DictionaryMore
Oxford Reference OnlineMore

Return to Top of Listing

P

People of the HolocaustMore  Restrictions
Performing Arts (Oxford Reference Online)More
Perry-Castañeda Library Map CollectionMore
Physical Sciences & Mathematics (Oxford Reference Online)More
Politics & Social Sciences (Oxford Reference Online)More
Pollution A to ZMore
Profiles of American Labor UnionsMore  Restrictions

Return to Top of Listing

Q

Quotations (Oxford Reference Online)More

Return to Top of Listing

R

Racial Justice in AmericaMore
Rand McNallyMore
Refdesk.comMore
Religion & Philosophy (Oxford Reference Online)More
Religion and PoliticsMore
Religious Leaders of AmericaMore  Restrictions
Religious Sites in AmericaMore
Right Site: Demographic Reports and MapsMore
Rise of the Medieval World, 500-1300More
Rivers of the WorldMore

Return to Top of Listing

S

Scholarly Societies ProjectMore
Science (Oxford Reference Online)More
Scientific RevolutionMore
Scribner's Encyclopedia of American LivesMore  Restrictions
Social Change in AmericaMore
Social PhobiaMore
Social Trends and Indicators USAMore
Special EducationMore
Sports StarsMore  Restrictions
St. James Encyclopedia of Popular CultureMore  Restrictions
St. James Guide to Black ArtistsMore  Restrictions
St. James Guide to Children's WritersMore  Restrictions
St. James Guide to Crime & Mystery WritersMore  Restrictions
St. James Guide to Fantasy WritersMore  Restrictions
St. James Guide to Horror, Ghost & Gothic WritersMore  Restrictions
St. James Guide to Native North American ArtistsMore  Restrictions
St. James Guide to Science Fiction WritersMore  Restrictions
St. James Guide to Young Adult WritersMore  Restrictions
Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) System SearchMore
State Data Center: Business Industry Data CenterMore
State Health Facts OnlineMore
Statistical Abstract of the United StatesMore
STATS IndianaMore
STAT-USA/InternetMore  Restrictions
Surveillance, Epidemiology, and End Results (SEER)More
Switchboard: Internet Telephone DirectoryMore

Return to Top of Listing

T

Thomas Register of American ManufacturersMore
Timeline of Art HistoryMore
Timelines (Oxford Reference Online)More
Twentieth-Century Romance & Historical WritersMore